About the Artist

Growing up in the rich literary and religious environment of Mississippi, and then moving straight into the country-soaked musical world of Nashville, Trent Dabbs has many stories to tell. Like Flannery O’Connor with her short story collection, A Good Man Is Hard To Find, Dabbs pieces his own spiritual and relational questions into well crafted folk-pop albums. The ghosts of Johnny Cash, old gospel-choirs, Neil Young, and Nick Drake are heard roaming the halls of Trent’s songs.

With many stories comes many different sounds. Dabbs is the kind of artist that is able to reinvent himself and his sound with every record. His newest collection of stories, The Way We Look At Horses, his eighth full length release, is more reminiscent of his 2011 release, Southerner. Which American Songwriter observed 'Here, he subtly taps into his roots, in a loosely conceptual album about his southern origins.'

Dabbs says the concept for 'The Way We Look At Horses' came from the idea of Equine Therapy (horse assisted therapy). “It is said that horses help us connect with buried feelings from the past and provide healing. Many of the themes throughout this album deal with death, love, making a change and the patterns that we've adopted to help us deal with difficult times. I love the image of the horse, being strong and steady and using them as a formidable metaphor to get us through.”

Trent’s desire is that his audience will take the time to listen to 'The Way We Look At Horses'' as a whole. Though many of the tracks stand on their own, and will surely find their way as snippets into scripts and onto screens, it is the story that concerns Trent the most. Our generation is one of ADD and instant gratification. Maybe what we need is to shut out the rest of the world, sit on the porch with a glass of tea, take a deep breath in, and just listen.

1. The Way We Look At Horses (4:38)
2. She's My Destination (3:14)
3. Mountain Song (3:55)
4. The Last Of Its Kind (4:14)
5. Midnight Walls (4:52)
6. Confetti Girl (3:16)
7. A Thousand Nights (4:19)
8. Time Decides (3:46)
9. Start Tomorrow (3:14)
10. Natural Causes (4:37)

1 Comment

Jessica Price


Jessica Price commented…

This is such a great album. I had the opportunity to meet Trent a few weeks ago. He is so nice and so humble. Give his album a listen, it is so worth it.

Log In

Please log in or register to comment